Daily Archives: August 8, 2011

VEGETARIAN DAY 15 – RESTAURANT REVIEW: FRAN’S RESTAURANT

You know those days when you’re just craving a hearty-easy-no-fuss meal? Think road trip food, truck stop diner … well that’s where my stomach was at tonight. And I’m thinking, how am I suppose to curb that craving as a VEGETARIAN? Answer: Fran’s Restaurant

A famous landmark in the city, Fran’s  was brought into Toronto from Buffalo, New York as a modest ten-stool diner at St.Clair and Yonge St in 1940. The owner’s vision was one of serving unique high quality food throughout the whole day to their customers and that is exactly what they did and still do to this day. First of all, there’s nothing I love more than when something is open 24 hours; there’s something so great about a place that is open whenever you need it to be. Second, if you want a fast and easy made,  all-North-American meal, I suggest going to Fran’s.

As a VEGETARIAN, I was pleasantly relieved with the wide selection of VEGGIE items the menu carried. My first thought walking into their Front St. and Yonge St. location was that I had to opt out for a boring salad when I was craving a good substantial meal. Instead, their all day breakfast menu had things like Vegetarian Omelette and Vegetarian Rainbow Benedict. To satisfy my trucker appetite this evening though, I went for the Vegetarian Sausages and Eggs served with 2 large fresh eggs, homefries and toast (multi-grain in my case).

The verdict? DELICIOUS! Definitely satisfied my appetitie.

So if you’re a VEGETARIAN and you’re looking for a hearty diner meal, Fran’s has some great options. And if your favourite meal of the day isn’t breakfast like mine, they have some nice choices for lunch like the Hearty Vegetarian Chili or the Vegetarian Garden Burger with Mushrooms, just to name a few.

Here are their list of LOCATIONS.

Happy Eating!

xoxo
Amira