Daily Archives: August 22, 2011

VEGETARIAN DAY 29: RESTAURANT REVIEW – LOU DAWG’S

Tomorrow is officially the last day of my challenge and I can hardly believe how it flew by. Being a VEGETARIAN has really been an eye opening experience for me, not just in terms of the actual diet but the lifestyle overall. More on that when I reflect on the last 30 days in tomorrow’s blog entry.

For this post, I’m doing my last restaurant review, and as you may know by now, I am a huge sports girl so what’s a better place to go to than  Lou Dawg’s Southern Sandwiches. A well known favourite of the city’s pro-athletes, Lou Dawg’s name has really gone out there mainly because of their famous pulled pork that the Toronto Blue Jays are such a big fan of. Doesn’t sound exactly appealing to VEGETARIANS now does it? Again I prove you wrong! One thing I learned from doing this challenge was to never shun away a place just because of what you’ve heard their menu is famous for or even for its name. Instead, really look at the options that are available for you and you’d be surprised how many places really do cater to the VEGETARIAN/VEGAN lifestyle.

Being super close to work, Lou Dawg’s has always been a favourite lunch spot of mine. Introduced to me by my friend Wendy of The Hip and Urban Girl’s Guide, I was instantly hooked on the place because of their delicious wings and sandwiches. At the time I was a meatatarian. Luckily for me, even with my change of lifestyle, I didn’t have to stop going there because their menu actually has a section specifically titled Veggie Optionsand may I be the first to tell you that these options are delicious.

My go to meal is the Veggie Wrap with Black Bean Corn Salad and a side of Sweet Potato Fries. This is a very hearty meal, so trust me you won’t be disappointed. The wrap contains fresh sliced tomatoes, lettuce and lime chipotle black bean corn salad, topped off with provolone and homemade BBQ mayo. I know, I’m pretty much salivating too right now.

The Veggie Wrap with Black Bean Corn Salad and a Side of Sweet Potato Fries

Fresh sliced tomatoes, lettuce and lime chipotle black bean corn salad, topped off with provolone and homemade BBQ mayo

In addition to the delicious food, you have to check out Lou Dawg’s even just for the atmosphere. Their name says it all, very cozy and rustic, a little bit of country in the city. Perfect place to grab a few drinks with friends and enjoy a game.

Happy Eating!

xoxo
Amira